Who wants to save some money?

As many of you know, I recently had a month hiatus between graduation and obtaining a ‘big girl job.’  For the past 5 weeks, I have lived the life of a housewife.  In order to save money while Phillip and I were temporarily living off of one income, I decided to start clipping coupons.  When I started this process, I never expected it to turn into what it is today!  One big shopping trip and I was hooked!  Below is a picture from my first major shopping excursion (excuse the poor photo quality… this was a cell phone pic the fiance snapped before I put everything away).

The photo above includes the following items:

  • 6 boxes of playtex gentle glide or playtex sport tampons (126 tampons in all)
  • Herbal Essence shampoo and conditioner
  • 1 can Aussie Hairspray
  • 2 degree deodorants
  • (2) 50 count boxes of multivitamins
  • 2 Gillette Pro Glide razors and four cartridges
  • 1.5 liters Listerine
  • (2) 50 ounce containers of Tide laundry soap
  • box of Crest toothpaste
  • (4) boxes of allergy medicine
  • jumbo pack of Charmin toliet paper
  • Skintimate shaving cream

How much do you think that cost?  Well let me tell you…. without coupons it would have been over 110 dollars.  I paid $13.88 for everything above! I was soooo proud of myself for saving such a large amount of money (97 dollars) on items that we would have eventually paid retail price for. 

And as I said, this was my first big shopping trip, and I have learned so much more since this trip.  Turns out, I should have saved another 10 dollars had I used my coupons and register rewards correctly.  I tell you this because I want you to know that couponing takes practice.  I don’t expect to become an expert couponer overnight, but keep checking back and I will share with you information I have picked up along the way.  Hopefully some of my suggestions and tips can be used to give your own wallet a break!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who wants to save some money?

  1. Yay for your blog!
    More posts, more posts!
    I need to save some dollars!

  2. Ashley Devine says:

    WOW! Great job Mandy. I definitely need to get with you. I thought I was doing great until I saw this, congrats. She will help with the little one coming along. Hope to see you tmrw night.

Leave a comment